Answers · By country

What has been tokenized in Africa — bonds, gold tokens and local-currency stablecoins?

Short answer

10 instruments from 7 African countries (Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, Seychelles, South Africa, Zimbabwe): 6 local-currency stablecoins and 4 other instruments — Maroc Leasing bond on blockchain (Morocco's first) (pilot issuance); MERJ Exchange tokenized ordinary shares (reported issuance — not confirmed by issuer or register); Die MOS Inisiatief 10-year floating-rate tokenised bond (Mesh.trade) (reported issuance — not confirmed by issuer or register); Zimbabwe Gold-Backed Digital Tokens (GBDT) (reported issuance — not confirmed by issuer or register). The largest stablecoins are ZARP (South African rand) and cNGN (Nigerian naira); Mento’s cedi, shilling, naira and rand coins are small.

Tokenization in Africa is mostly local-currency stablecoins and a few first-of-their-kind pilots. No African regulator publishes a register of tokenized securities, so each row here rests on its own source — an issuer page, a contract read on chain, or a press report — and says which. Pilots and reported issuances are labelled as such.

How this list is made: computed from the live TokenBank dataset each time the page is built — 10 matching rows, each linked to its own page and source.

Figures from our live dataset · data as of 2026-10-17 · this answer as JSON · not investment advice

TokenIssuerYield / returnMinimumKYC to buyChain
GHSM
Mento Ghanaian Cedi
—No yield—Not statedCelo
KESM
Mento Kenyan Shilling
—No yield—Not statedCelo
MA-MAROCLEASING-2022
Maroc Leasing bond on blockchain (Morocco's first)
Maroc Leasing (Groupe Banque Centrale Populaire)Not stated by the source—Not stated—
cNGN
cNGN
Wrapped CBDC Ltd (Nigeria; SEC ARIP admission in principle)No yield—Not statedBase / BNB Chain / Ethereum (+1)
NGNM
Mento Nigerian Naira
—No yield—Not statedCelo
SC-MERJ-SHARES
MERJ Exchange tokenized ordinary shares
MERJ Exchange Ltd (Seychelles FSA)Not stated by the source—Not stated—
ZA-MOS-MESH-2034
Die MOS Inisiatief 10-year floating-rate tokenised bond (Mesh.trade)
Die MOS InisiatiefNot stated by the source—Not stated—
ZARM
Mento South African Rand
—No yield—Not statedCelo
ZARP
ZARP Stablecoin
ZARP Stablecoin (Pty) LtdNo yield—Not statedEthereum / Base / Polygon (+1)
ZW-RBZ-GBDT
Zimbabwe Gold-Backed Digital Tokens (GBDT)
Reserve Bank of ZimbabweNot stated by the source—Not stated—

How to choose

Read the evidence level on each row: a stablecoin read on chain is confirmed to exist; a pilot or a reported issuance may have ended or never reached investors.

More questions

Why are so few African instruments listed?

Because few are published anywhere we can read. No African securities regulator lists tokenized issues, and most pilots are announced once in the press. If you know of one, tell us through “List your token”.

Which of them can I buy without KYC?

None of them is stated as buyable without KYC.

Sources

Related