Answers · By country

Which tokenized government bonds and money market funds has Hong Kong issued?

Short answer

9 tranches of digital green bonds from the HKSAR Government, issued in 2023, 2024, 2025; 4 of them are still outstanding (USD 300 million, RMB 2.5 billion, HKD 2.5 billion, EUR 300 million), the rest have matured and been repaid. Plus 3 digital money market funds from China Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited, authorised by the SFC and confirmed live by the manager. Authorised but not yet confirmed as launched: BlackRock HKD Digital Liquidity Fund.

Hong Kong issues tokenized instruments through its regulators rather than through crypto platforms. The government has issued its green bonds in digital form three times since 2023, recorded on a private ledger and settled through the HKMA’s Central Moneymarkets Unit. Fund managers need SFC authorisation for a fund with tokenized units; the SFC’s register lists more than 2,400 authorised funds, and only a handful of them are digital. A fund the manager has confirmed is listed as live; one that is only authorised is listed too, labelled “Authorised by the regulator — launch not confirmed”.

How this list is made: computed from the live TokenBank dataset each time the page is built — 13 matching rows, each linked to its own page and source.

Figures from our live dataset · data as of 2026-10-15 · this answer as JSON · not investment advice

TokenIssuerYield / returnMinimumKYC to buyChain
SFC-BWG919
ChinaAMC RMB Digital Money Market Fund
China Asset Management (Hong Kong) LimitedYield not stated by the source—Not stated—
SFC-BWG918
ChinaAMC USD Digital Money Market Fund
China Asset Management (Hong Kong) LimitedYield not stated by the source—Not stated—
SFC-BVQ026
ChinaAMC HKD Digital Money Market Fund
China Asset Management (Hong Kong) LimitedYield not stated by the source—Not stated—
HKGB-DIGI-2025-USD
HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2025 (USD 3-year tranche)
HKSAR Government3.633% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedHSBC Orion
HKGB-DIGI-2025-RMB
HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2025 (RMB 5-year tranche)
HKSAR Government1.9% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedHSBC Orion
HKGB-DIGI-2025-HKD
HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2025 (HKD 2-year tranche)
HKSAR Government2.5% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedHSBC Orion
HKGB-DIGI-2025-EUR
HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2025 (EUR 4-year tranche)
HKSAR Government2.512% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedHSBC Orion
HK-BLACKROCK-HKD-DLF
BlackRock HKD Digital Liquidity Fund
BlackRock Asset Management North Asia LimitedNot stated by the source—Not stated—
HKGB-DIGI-2024-USD
HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2024 (USD tranche)
HKSAR Government4.749% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedHSBC Orion
HKGB-DIGI-2024-RMB
HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2024 (RMB tranche)
HKSAR Government2.9% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedHSBC Orion
HKGB-DIGI-2024-HKD
HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2024 (HKD tranche)
HKSAR Government3.8% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedHSBC Orion
HKGB-DIGI-2024-EUR
HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2024 (EUR tranche)
HKSAR Government3.647% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedHSBC Orion
HKGB-DIGI-2023
HKSAR Government — Tokenised Green Bond 2023
HKSAR Government4.05% coupon
checked 15 Oct 2026
—Not statedGoldman Sachs GS DAP (private blockchain)

How to choose

The bonds are government credit in four currencies with fixed coupons; the funds give a variable money market rate. Either way the tokenization changes how they settle, not what you own — compare them with the plain version your bank or broker already offers, including its fees.

More questions

Are Hong Kong’s digital green bonds on a public blockchain?

No. The 2023 bond was recorded on Goldman Sachs’ GS DAP and the 2024 and 2025 issues on HSBC Orion, both private, permissioned ledgers. Settlement runs through the HKMA’s Central Moneymarkets Unit, as for any other government bond. You hold them through a bank or broker, not in a wallet.

What is a digital money market fund in Hong Kong?

An ordinary SFC-authorised money market fund whose units are recorded as tokens. ChinaAMC RMB Digital Money Market Fund, ChinaAMC USD Digital Money Market Fund, ChinaAMC HKD Digital Money Market Fund. The manager’s announcement of 21 September 2026 names Standard Chartered as custodian and HSBC tokenised deposits for the cash leg.

Does an SFC authorisation mean a digital fund has launched?

No. An authorisation shows a fund may be offered, not that it has launched or that its units are already tokens. Funds whose manager confirmed the launch are shown as live; funds that are only authorised are listed with that label, so the picture is complete without overstating it. The SFC publishes no tokenised flag, so we find digital funds by name — a lower bound.

Which of them can I buy without KYC?

None of them is stated as buyable without KYC.

Are these yields fixed?

None is stated as fixed. The figures on this page were last checked between 2026-10-14T17:39:17.937Z and 2026-10-15T10:00:00.000Z.

Sources

Related